OIB Programs by State

OIB Programs by State

Each state has a unique service delivery model.  To identify similar models, use the code listed after the state name. Designated State Agencies (DSAs) that provide services with agency staff are "In-house" (I). States that contract with other providers are listed as "Contracting" (C).  DSAs may also provide using a combination of both in-house and contract (IC).

 
A magnifying glass close up to a colorful world map with North America shown through the glass.

Alabama (I)

OIB Program Manager:  
Matthew Haynes

OASIS Program Coordinator
Alabama Department of Rehabilitation Services
P.O. Box 19888
236 Goodwin Crest Drive
Homewood, AL  35219-0888
205.290.4451
matthew.haynes@rehab.alabama.gov 

Secondary Contact: 
Bedarius Bell
Director, Special Programs
Alabama Dept. of Rehabilitation Services
602 S. Lawrence St. Montgomery, AL 36104
334-293-7218 (Office)
334-239-3778 (Video Phone)
Bedarius.bell@rehab.alabama.gov

 

Alaska (C)

OIB Program Manager:   
Sarah Canoy

Program Manager  
Alaska Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
P.O. Box 115516
Juneau, AK 99811-5516
907.465.6932 or 800.478.2815
907.465.6932
sarah.canoy@alaska.gov

Secondary Contact: 
Jim Kreatschman

Program Coordinator II
Alaska PreETS Program
P.O. Box 115516
Juneau, AK 99811-5516
800.478.2815
jim.kreatschman@alaska.gov     
 

American Samoa

OIB Program Manager: 
Pete Poumele

Blind Services Coordinator
American Samoa Office of Vocational Rehabilitation  
P.O. Box 4561
Pago Pago, AS 96799
011.684.699.1371
mataiau26@gmail.com 
 

Arizona (IC)

OIB Program Manager:
Dr. Brian Dulude

OIB Program Manager
Arizona Department of Economic Security
Rehabilitation Services Administration
602.542.6289
480.549.8199 (M)
bdulude@azdes.gov

 

Arkansas (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Tina Shores

Older Blind Program Manager
Arkansas Services for the Blind
Division of Workforce Services
Arkansas Department of Commerce
616 Garrison Ave. Rm. 101
P.O. Box 1987
Fort Smith, AR 72901
479.289.7797 (O)
479.629.18.13 (M)
Agency Receptionist: 1.800.960.9270
tina.shores@arkansas.gov   

Secondary Contact:
Dr. Megan Lamb, DBA

Field Administrator
Division of Services for the Blind
Arkansas Division of Workforce Services
1 Commerce Way, Ste. 204
Little Rock, AR, 72202
501.682.5730 (O)
501.551.7236 (M) 
Megan.Lamb@arkansas.gov 

Secondary Contact 2:
Amy Jackson

amy.jackson@arkansas.gov 
 

California (C)

OIB Program Manager: 
Jay Harris

Program Manager 
Department of Rehabilitation
721 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
916.558.5484 
Jay.harris@dor.ca.gov 

Secondary Contact: 
Peter Dawson

Acting Deputy Director
Department of Rehabilitation
721 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
619.209.1892
peter.dawson@dor.ca.gov
 

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Arlene Reyes

Executive Director
Office of Vocational Rehabilitation
Office of the Governor
P.O. Box 501521 
Saipan, MP  96950
670.322.6537
670.322.6448 (Fax)
arlene@ovrgov.net 
 

Colorado (C)

OIB Program Manager:  
Liz Robertson

Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
2211 W Evans Ave
Denver CO 80223
719.985.0549
elizabeth.robertson@state.co.us 

Connecticut (I)

OIB Program Manager:  
Christopher Lassen 

Adult Services Supervisor   
Older Blind Grant Program VII-2
Department of Aging and Disability Services
Bureau of Education and Services for the Blind (BESB)
Adult Services Division
184 Windsor Avenue
Windsor, CT  06095
860.602.4180
860.602.4002 (TTY) 
Christopher.Lassen@ct.gov 
 

Delaware (I)

OIB Program Manager:  

Ashley Spinden

Ashley.Spinden@Delaware.gov 

 

District of Columbia (IC)

OIB Program Manager: 
Damon Johnson

Supervisory Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist, Sensory Unit 
Rehabilitation Services Administration 
Department on Disability Services
One Independence Square
250 E Street SW
Washington, DC  20024
202.262.5650
damon.johnsonjr@dc.gov

Secondary Contact:
Ricky Wright (DDS)

Ricky.Wright@dc.gov
 

Florida (C)

OIB Program Manager:
Mireya Hernandez

Division of Blind Services
Program Administrator
Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street  
Turlington Building Suite 1114
Tallahassee, FL 32399
813.871.7190
Mireya.Hernandez@dbs.fldoe.org 

Secondary Contact: 
Bridget Giles

Bureau Chief, Client Services
Department of Education
Division of Blind Services
325 West Gaines Street  
Turlington Building, Suite 1114
Tallahassee, FL 32399
850.245.0305
Bridget.Giles@dbs.fldoe.org 
 

Georgia (C)

OIB Program Manager:
Shirley Robinson 

Coordinator of Blind Services 
Georgia Vocational Rehabilitation Services
200 Piedmont Avenue SE, West Tower 
Suite 502A 
Atlanta, GA 30334
404.783.3545
Shirley.robinson@gvs.ga.gov

Secondary Contact:
Chris Wells

Executive Director
Georgia Vocational Rehabilitation Agency
200 Piedmont Avenue S.E. 
West Tower 14th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30334
404.232.1998
www.gvs.ga.gov 
 

Guam

Rita Sotomayor

rita.sotomayor@disid.guam.gov
www.disid.guam.gov 

Hawaii (I)

OIB Program Manager:  

Gavan Abe
Ho`opono Services for the Blind
Hawaii Division of Vocational Rehabilitation 
1901 Bachelot Street
Honolulu, HI 96817
808.782.7573
gabe@dhs.hawaii.gov

Secondary Contact:
Claudia Madruga

1901 Bachelot Street
Honolulu, HI  96817
CMadruga@dhs.hawaii.gov 

 

Idaho (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Steven Achabal M.Ed, CRC

Program Coordinator
Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired
P.O. Box 83720 
341 West Washington Street
Boise, ID 83720
208.334.3220 ext. 113
steve.achabal@icbvi.idaho.gov 
 

Illinois (C)

OIB Program Manager, Primary Contact:
Holly Cunningham, MA
Rehabilitation Services Advisor
IDHS/DRS - Bureau of Customer & Community Blind Services
809 Commercial Ave
Springfield, IL 62703
holly.cunningham@illinois.gov
Cell: 217-843-0659

 

 

Indiana (C)

OIB Program Director: 
Amy Luellen 

Bureau of Rehabilitative Services/FSSA
Family and Social Services Administration
Indiana Government Center South 
402 W. Washington St. Rm W453
Indianapolis, IN 46204
317.775.3187
amy.luellen@fssa.in.gov 

Secondary Contact:
Locket Phillips

Blind and Visually Impaired Services
Family and Social Services Administrations
Indiana Government Center South 
402 W. Washington St. Rm W453
Indianapolis, IN 46204
317.232.1441
locket.phillips@fssa.in.gov 
 

Iowa (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Kim Walford

Program Administrator
Iowa Department for the Blind
524 Fourth Street
Des Moines, IA  50309-2364
515.250.1184 (C)
kim.walford@blind.state.ia.us 
 

Kansas (C)

OIB Program Manager: 
Jennifer Graber

Kansas Department for Children and Families
DCF Administration Building
555 South Kansas Street
Topeka, KS 66603
785.296.8600
785.296.3271
www.dcf.ks.gov
jennifer.graber@ks.gov

 

Kentucky (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Gay Pannell

IL/OIB Program Manager
Kentucky Career Center
Office of Vocational Rehabilitation
Division of Blind Services
Independent Living Services
955 Fairview Ave., Suite 100
Bowling Green, KY  42101
502.764.1106 or 800.443.6055 (O)
270.746.7423 (Fax) 
gay.pannell@ky.gov 
 

Louisiana (C)

OIB Program Manager:  
Kevin Monk

Program Manager, CD
Louisiana Workforce Commission
1001 N. 23rd Street
P.O. Box 91297
Baton Rouge, LA  70821-9297
225.219.2943 or 800.737.2958
kmonk@lwc.la.gov

Secondary Contact: 
Inette Long
Program Coordinator
ILong@lwc.la.gov
225.219.2368
 

Maine (IC)

OIB Program Manager:  
Annette Stevens

Rehabilitation Consultant
Division for the Blind & Visually Impaired
150 State House Station 
Augusta, ME 04333-0150 
207.623.7949
Annette.M.Stevens@maine.gov 
 

Maryland (I)

OIB Program Manager:  
Tandra Hunter-Payne

Program Manager
Office for Blindness and Vision Services
2301 Argonne Drive
Baltimore, MD 21218
410.554.9107
tandra.hunter-payne@maryland.gov  

Secondary Contact: 
Toni March

Director
Office for Blindness and Vision Services
2301 Argonne Drive
Baltimore, MD 21218
410.554.9219
 

Massachusetts (IC)

OIB Program Manager: 
Karen Hatcher

Director
Massachusetts Commission for the Blind
600 Washington Street, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA  02111
617.626.7462
karen.hatcher@mass.gov 

Secondary Contact: 
John Oliveira

Deputy Commissioner
Massachusetts Commission for the Blind
600 Washington Street - 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02111
617.626.7509
john.oliveira@ma.gov  

Michigan (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Lisa Kisiel

Program Manager 
Bureau of Services of Blind Persons
P.O. Box 30652, 702 W. Kalamazoo Street
Lansing, MI  48909
269.251.6840
kisiell@michigan.gov 
 

Minnesota (IC)

OIB Program Manager: 
Edward Lecher

State Services for the Blind
Senior Service Unit
2200 University Avenue West, Suite 240
St Paul, MN  55114-1840
651.539.2324
651.642.0506 (TTY)
edward.lecher@state.mn.us

Mississippi (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Lynda Hall

Program Manager
Department of Rehabilitation Services
Office of Vocational Rehabilitation for the Blind/Independent Living
317 Industrial Park Road 
Starkville, MS 39759
662.320.6656 or 800.443.1000 (O)
662.324.1878 (TTY)
lhall@mdrs.ms.gov  

Secondary Contact: 
Fadeelah Williams

Program Supervisor
700 B North Main Street
Amory, MS 38821 
662.256.9943 

Missouri (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Nicole Hanlin

Rehabilitation Services for the Blind
615 Howerton Court
Jefferson City, MO 65101
573.751.8903
nicole.m.hanlin@dss.mo.gov

 

Montana (I)

More About The Program:

OIB Program Manager:  
Darrel Hannum

Bureau Chief BLVS
48 2nd Ave. Ste. 213 
Havre, MT 59501
406.265.6933
DHannum@mt.gov 

Secondary Contact: 
Chanda Hermanson

Administrator
Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS)
Montana Disability, Employment and Transitions 
Vocational Rehabilitation and Blind Services
P.O. Box 4210
111 N Last Chance Gulch Ste. 4C
Helena MT 59604
406.444.2590
877.296.1197
Chanda.hermanson@mt.gov 

 
 
 

Nebraska (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Angie Hoff

Older Blind Program Manager
NCBVI
308.293.3025
angie.hoff@nebraska.gov

Secondary Contact: 
Erin Brandyberry

North Platte District Supervisor
NCBVI
4600 Valley Rd, Ste 100
Lincoln, NE 68510-4844
308.293.7662
Erin.brandyberry@nebraska.gov 

Nevada (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Ani-Tamina Severtsen

Rehabilitation Instructor II
State of Nevada/DETR-Bureau of Vocational Rehabilitation
3016 W. Charleston Blvd. Suite 200
Las Vegas, NV 89102
702.486.0387
t-severtsen@detr.nv.gov 

Secondary Contact: 
Drazen Elez

State Administrator
702.486.0506
d-elez@detr.nv.gov  
 

New Hampshire (C)

OIB Program Manager: 
Amy Clark

Older Individuals who are Blind and Vision Impaired Program 
New Hampshire Bureau of Vocational Rehabilitation
Division of Workforce Innovation
New Hampshire Department of Education
21 S. Fruit Street, Suite 20
Concord, NH 03301
603.271.3815
Amy.M.Clark@doe.nh.gov 
Services for The Blind and Vision Impaired (SBVI) Program

Secondary Contact:
Rick Wisler
603.271.3537

New Jersey (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Allyson Cohen
 
New Jersey Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired
153 Halsey Street, 6th Floor
Newark, NJ 07101
973.648.3333
allyson.cohen@dhs.nj.gov

New Mexico (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Juan F. Haro

Independent Living Program Manager
New Mexico Commission for the Blind
400 N. Pennsylvania Avenue, Suite 900
Roswell, NM  88201
505.383.2267
Juan.Haro@state.nm.us 

Secondary Contact: 
James Salas

Deputy Director
Independent Living Program
NM Commission for the Blind
2200 Yale Boulevard SE
Albuquerque, NM  87106
505.383.2251
James.Salas@state.nm.us 
 

New York (C)

OIB Program Manager:  
Tracy Breslin 

New York State Office of Children and Family Services
Commission for the Blind and Visually Handicapped 
Capital View Office Park
52 Washington  Street, South Building, Room 201
Rensselaer, NY 12144 
518.474.9647
tracy.breslin@ocfs.ny.gov  
 

North Carolina (I)

OIB Program Manager
Crystal Jackson Cheek M.Ed, C.M.H.C.

IL Program Specialist
Division of Services for the Blind
NC Department of Health and Human Services
309 Ashe Avenue, Fisher Building
2601 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2601
919.527.6720
Crystal.Cheek@dhhs.nc.gov

Secondary Contact:
Patricia Sikes

IL Program Specialist
NC Division of Services for the Blind
309 Ashe Avenue, Fisher Building
Raleigh, NC 27606
919.527.6720
patricia.sikes@dhhs.nc.gov 
 

North Dakota (I)

OIB Program Manager:  
Aimee Volk

Department of Human Services
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
1000 East Divide Avenue
Bismarck, ND  58501-1208
701.328.8954 or 800.755.2745
701.328.8968
alvolk@nd.gov  

Ohio (IC)

More About The Program:

Primary Contact:
Allison Meloy, MS, CRC
Vocational Rehabilitation Supervisor
Independent Living Older Blind Unit
Bureau of Services for the Visually Impaired
Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities
895 Central Ave, 7th floor
Canton, OH 45202
937.260.8076
allison.meloy@ood.ohio.gov

Secondary Contact:
Lindsay Thomas
614.824.0853
Lindsey.Thomas@ood.ohio.gov

 

Oklahoma (I)

OIB Program Manager:  
Julie Bailey

Program Manager
Tulsa Visual Services Center, VS 91
907 South Detroit Avenue, Suite 500
Tulsa, OK 74120
918.551.4911 (O)
918.606.9353 (C)
918.551.4935 (F) 
jbailey@okdrs.gov   
 

Oregon (I)

OIB Program Manager:  
Malinda S. Carlson

IL Director
Oregon Commission for the Blind
535 SE 12th Avenue
Portland, OR 97214
971.673.1578  
Malinda.s.carlson@ocb.oregon.gov 
 

Pennsylvania (I)

OIB Program Manager:  
Jamie Pressmann

VR Specialist 
Labor & Industry | Office of Vocational Rehabilitation
Bureau of Blindness and Visual Services | Central Office
8 W Market Street, 2nd floor
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701
717.787.8315 (O)
570.709.6135 (C)
jpressmann@pa.gov 
 

Puerto Rico

OIB Program Manager: 

Ileana Rivera

Administrator VRA

Administración Rehabilitación Vocacional 

Programa MIRADA  

PO Box 191118

San Juan, PR 00919-1118

787.729.0160, ext. 7259

Rhode Island (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Laurie Diorio

Program Manager/State Director
Department of Human Services/Office of Rehabilitation Services
Services for the Blind and Visually Impaired 
40 Fountain Street, Third Floor
Providence, RI  02903
401.265.3563
laurie.diorio@dhs.ri.gov 

Secondary Contact:
Ronald J. Racine

Associate Director 
Department of Human Services
Office of Rehabilitation Services
40 Fountain St.
Providence, RI 02903
401.462.7888 
Ronald.Racine@dhs.ri.gov
 

South Carolina (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Leah "Nikki" Green

Independent Services Program Lead
South Carolina Commission for the Blind
Independent Living and Prevention of Blindness Programs
1430 Confederate Ave
Columbia, SC 29201
803-898-8871
leah.green@sccb.sc.gov
 

South Dakota (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Sandra Neyhart

Program Manager
Department of Human Services
Service to the Blind and Visually Impaired 
Hillsview Properties Plaza
3800 East Highway 34, 500 East Capitol
Pierre, SD  57501-5070
605.773.4644 or 800.265.9684
605.773.6412 (TTY)
sandy.neyhart@state.sd.us 
 

Tennessee (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Cindy Miles

Director, IL/OIB
Blind & Visually Impaired Services
2557 Plymouth Road
Johnson City, TN  37604
423.434.6986
cindy.miles@tn.gov

Secondary Contact: 
Chastity Campbell

IL Program Coordinator
1618 Railroad Ave.
Shelbyville, TN 37160
931.685.1393
chastity.campbell@tn.gov 
 

Texas (I)

Texas (North)

Matt Berend, MRC, LBSW
Independent Living Services for Older Individuals who are Blind (OIB)
Texas Workforce Commission-Vocational Rehabilitation Division
1117 Trinity St., Room 144T
Austin, TX 78778
737.329.6822
matt.berend@twc.texas.gov 

Texas (South)

OIB Program Manager:  
Kira Hollywood-Sythoff, M.Ed., LPC

OIB Manager
Texas Workforce Commission
VR Division/Office of Blind Services
101 East 15th Street, MC 1403
Austin Texas 78778
512.936.4276
Kira.hollywood@twc.texas.gov

Other Texas Contacts:

Bonnie Notargiacomo
OIB Program Specialist

956.358.8559
bonnie.notargiacomo@twc.texas.gov
 

Crystal Stark
OIB Program Specialist

979.680.5293
Crystal.stark@twc.texas.gov 

Utah (C)

OIB Program Manager: 
Steve Winn

Division of Services for the Blind and Visually Impaired
250 North 1950 West, Suite B
Salt Lake City, UT  84116-7902
801.323.4345
801.323.4395 (TTY)
stevewinn@utah.gov 
 

Vermont (C)

OIB Program Manager: 
Fred Jones

Division Director
Division for the Blind and Visually Impaired
H.C. 2 South
280 State Drive
Waterbury, VT  05671-2050
802.241.0326
fred.jones@vermont.gov

Virginia (I)

OIB Program Manager: 

David Fuller
Director of Rehabilitation Teaching and Independent Living Services 
Department for the Blind & Vision Impaired 
397 Azalea Avenue, 
Richmond, VA 23227
Office 804-371-3193
Work Cell 804-489-4901

dave.fuller@dbvi.virginia.gov 

 

Virgin Islands

OIB Program Manager: 
Felecia Blyden

Supervisor
Virgin Islands Department of Human Services
Disabilities and Vocational Rehabilitation Services
1303 Hospital Ground
Knud Hansen Complex, Building A
St. Thomas, VI  00802
340.774.0930 
felecia.blyden@dhs.vi.gov  
 

Washington (C)

OIB Program Manager: 
Kim Canaan

State Director
Department of Services for the Blind
University of Washington—CTDS
Box 357920
Seattle, WA 98195
206.616.6789
206.721.4056 (TDD) 
kimcan@uw.edu 

Secondary Contact: 
Sophie Watson

Program Coordinator
Department of Services for the Blind
University of Washington—CTDS
Box 357920
Seattle, WA 98195
watsos@uw.edu

West Virginia (I)

OIB Program Manager: 
Tammy Murdock

Rehabilitation Program Specialist 
WV Division of Rehabilitation Services
10 McJunkin Road
Nitro, WV 25143
304.760.7180
tammy.k.murdock@wv.gov
 

Wisconsin (I)

OIB Program Manager:  
Ann Sievert

Office Director
Office for the Blind and Visually Impaired
1 West Wilson Street, Room 558
Madison, WI 53703
608.266.3147
annl.sievert@dhs.wisconsin.gov 

Wyoming (C)

OIB Program Manager: 
Stephanie Jensen

Program Manager
Wyoming Department of Workforce Services, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
5221 Yellowstone Road
Cheyenne, WY 82002
307.777.7191
stephanie.jensen@wyo.gov