Using Technology to Increase the Independence of Older Adults with Combined Hearing and Vision Loss

Date: 

Friday, August 20, 2021 - 2:00 pm to 3:30 pm CDT

Location: 

Zoom


The Helen Keller National Center for DeafBlind Youths and Adults (HKNC) is the only national Comprehensive and Vocational Rehabilitation Program exclusively for youths and adults with a combined hearing and vision loss. The residential-based training program located at its headquarters in Sands Point, Long Island, NY, provides vocational training and assistance to consumers in locating employment, housing and community resources in their community of choice. NOTE: During the COVID-19 pandemic, all classes are being conducted virtually.

Field services include 10 regional offices with 11 regional representatives, 11 DeafBlind specialists, 3 youth coordinators and a California based Community Services Program. 

Additional programs include:  Summer Youth Programs; a Senior Adult Program; a New York Community Services Program; an Information, Research and Professional Development Department; a DeafBlind Immersion Experience; and internships through a Professional Learning and Leadership Institute.

Presenter

Scott Davert’s occupation encompasses his life passions for reading and technology. “Braille and technology are two things that open so many doors for those who are DeafBlind. Without them, I wouldn’t be able to function in my daily life,” he says. Scott has worked as a technology instructor at Helen Keller National Center, has managed the New York iCanConnect program, and is currently the Coordinator of the Technology, Research, and Innovation Center at HKNC. In this role, Mr. Davert provides short term training to consumers, trains professionals in the field of adaptive technology, evaluates products for their accessibility for those who are DeafBlind, works with companies to develop more useable technology for those who are DeafBlind, and also trains staff at HKNC as needed.

Scott has published numerous articles on technology and services for those who are DeafBlind. He also serves on the editorial staff of AppleVis.com, a web-based community that promotes and advocates for accessible applications and devices for Apple products.

His volunteer service has included the boards of SHI-M=DB ((Self Help for Independency in Michigan Equalizing the DeafBlind), AADB and the Disability Advisory Committee for the Federal Communications Commission. Scott holds degrees psychology and sociology, as well as a master’s in Vision Rehabilitation Therapy.

Registration

Registration is required. Please register here.

The webinar is

  1. Noon PST
  2. 1:00 PM MST
  3. 2:00 PM CST
  4. 3:00 PM EST

After registration, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.