Best Practices

Best Practices in Online Education for the Visually Impaired

Date: 

Friday, August 21, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm

Location: 

Zoom Meeting (virtual)


Summary:

In the upcoming presentation, Kirby will review research Hadley has done over the past two years, discuss best practices in online education for the visually impaired, and give a brief demo of Hadley’s newly developed website with creative accessibility features and exciting new content – including new innovative, interactive Braille workshops. Founded in 1920, Hadley’s mission is to create personalized learning opportunities that empower adults with vision loss or blindness to thrive – at home, at work, and in their communities. A 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, Hadley relies on contributions from individuals, foundations, and corporations to fund programs which are free to their clients.  Come visit us at https://hadley.edu.

Presenters:

Kirby Lindgren is the Director of Professional Outreach at the Hadley Institute for the Blind and Visually Impaired. Prior to joining Hadley, Kirby spent 10 years working at another non-profit organization focused on training adoptive and foster parents online. Kirby holds a degree in Business with focus on Computer Science and Education.

Joining for Q & A Session:

Ed Haines has been with Hadley for over 15 years. He has worked in several positions and currently serves as the Chief Program Officer. Ed has enjoyed a 25 year career in the field of vision rehabilitation, working for both state and private agencies as an administrator, Vocational  Rehabilitation Counselor and Vision Rehabilitation Therapist.  He is a graduate of Western Michigan’s Blindness and Low Vision Studies Program and is a CVRT.

Time Zones:

Noon  PST
1 PM  MST
2 PM CST
3 PM EST

Zoom Information:

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85649610247?pwd=a3U1b016akFjbWcrOUVJVEVaM0FQdz09

Meeting ID: 856 4961 0247
Password: 482790
One tap mobile
+19294362866,,85649610247#,,,,0#,,482790# US (New York)
+13017158592,,85649610247#,,,,0#,,482790# US (Germantown)

Dial by your location
        +1 929 436 2866 US (New York)
        +1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
        +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)
        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
Meeting ID: 856 4961 0247
Password: 482790
Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kWeqasdTr