National Deaf-Blind Equipment Distribution Program

Date: 

Friday, June 19, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm

Location: 

Zoom Meeting (virtual)


Bios:

OIB-TAC Guest presenters: Mark Armstrong, Beth Jordan, and Cathy Kirscher

Mark Armstrong is the Senior Adult Specialist for Helen Keller National Center. He works with seniors, age 55 and "better" who have combined vision and hearing loss. He facilitates the Confident Living Program and On-the-Road throughout the United States. Mark is a Certified Vision Rehabilitation Therapist (CVRT) and has served as the Georgia AER President from 2014-2016, Past President, 2016-2018, and currently serves as Secretary for AER National Aging Division. He is retired from the United States Marine Corps and served in "The Commandant's Own," The United States Marine Drum and Bugle Corps. Mark is a Blinded Veteran who also has hearing loss. He resides in North Carolina and has been married 30 years to his wife, Kay.

Beth Jordan is the Great Plains Regional Representative for the Helen Keller National Center, serving people who have both vision and hearing loss and their families. Ms. Jordan has worked in this capacity for over 25 years. She provides training and technical assistance to agencies/organizations. She received her Master of Education degree from the University of Arkansas, majoring in rehabilitation counseling and independent living with an emphasis on deafness. She is a certified rehabilitation counselor (CRC) and resides in Olathe, Kansas.

Cathy Kirscher has worked for Helen Keller National Center (HKNC) in several positions since 1987. She is currently the Regional Services Coordinator for the Southwest Region 9 HKNC office. She has been involved with the NDBEDP (National Deaf-Blind Equipment Distribution Program) or iCanConnect (iCC) since its inception, and currently administers the iCC program in the Pacific Islands and the Hawaii DBS, and works closely with the Lighthouse in San Francisco, and Perkins School for the Blind in Nevada. Cathy has a master's in rehabilitation counseling with an emphasis on deafness and hearing loss from Western Oregon University.

Time Zones:

Pacific: 12:00 pm
Mountain: 1:00 pm
Central: 2:00 pm
Eastern: 3:00 pm

Zoom Information:

Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/92750642912?pwd=UWRiVzJwdHFkaW44dVkvaTQ2ZWlkUT09

Meeting ID: 927 5064 2912
Password: 639896
One tap mobile
+13126266799,,92750642912#,,#,639896# US (Chicago)
+19294362866,,92750642912#,,#,639896# US (New York)

Dial by your location
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
        +1 929 436 2866 US (New York)
        +1 253 215 8782 US
        +1 301 715 8592 US
        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
        +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)
Meeting ID: 927 5064 2912
Password: 639896
Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/addkr7LAUv

Zoom Accessibility:

Zoom has compiled a list of helpful keyboard shortcuts that you may find useful.